Conflicting confrontation

Hello Weblog world,

So this morning I wake up to a rather cloudy yet bright morning here in the Mile High City. It’s odd but not abnormal I suppose, since even cloudy days get a burst of sunshine. Downstairs I hear the rustle of my mom making breakfast and talking on the phone. She usually is. We begin our usually morning chit chat when a touchy subject comes up. That subject of course is about apologizing.

See, recently my brother’s girlfriend has taken on the task of making me apologize because I told him (which he so conveniently passed on to her) I think something is wrong with a person when he/she can’t stop his/her best friend from going on a tirade on his/her significant other. When said best friend emails/instant messages/etc. my brother and continually batters him with how horrible of a person he is and when brought to his girlfriend’s attention her response is “Well you said things to her too,” something is definitely wrong. Now don’t get me wrong I don’t think that she’s a bad person. I just think that she should have at least been able to tell her friend STOP.

Now he tells me that things have gotten better, and I’m happy that it has. I just don’t think that I should apologize because I don’t think I’m wrong. Which leads me to today’s question: Should you apologize even when you don’t think you’re wrong simply to make peace? Or Do you think it’s better to hold your ground?

I think that I should only apologize when I know I’ve done something wrong. Otherwise, I’ll just be apologizing for nothing, which will make me feel like my apologizes hold very little meaning. They aren’t heartfelt sentiments of regret and such, instead they become words that I mumble just to fill the space. But that’s just me.

See You Later,

Binny

2 thoughts on “Conflicting confrontation

  1. I don’t think you should have to apologize for anything. It wasn’t like you were talking bad about her. I would hold my ground if I were you. I think she knows that you’re right, and feels bad; otherwise why would this be an issue? This is just my opinion of course.

    1. Thank you for commenting.

      I agree with you. I don’t think I should have to apologize for stating what I believe. But I guess she has been pressing my brother to get me to apologize (which is another problem in itself.) I don’t want to cause him trouble or get in between their relationship; I just don’t want to always have to watch what I say because she will take offense to my opinions. It’s kind of a weird balance.

Leave a Reply

