Beauty Review: Sonia Kashuk Gel Liner

Hello my dear readers,

I know that this post and review are long over due! I’m so sorry! It’s just with school wrapping up and finals just around the corner, I find myself hard pressed for time to update my blog. But no fear, once summer is over I will definitely write on a more regular schedule.

Today, I will be writing a review about the Sonia Kashuk Long Lasting Gel Liner. This is a gel eyeliner from the Sonia Kashuk line sold only at Target. It costs 8.99 for a 0.18 oz (approximately) jar of eyeliner. It comes in multiple colors. I own the black (called onyx) and brown (called cocoa). There are a few more but unfortunately I don’t own those, so I can’t really comment (or recall off the top of my head) what they’re called. I know there is a blue one that I believe is called sapphire.

The packaging is a white box, that makes it look bigger than it really is. But it’s not that bad, it feels hefty and the jar is made out of thick glass with a silver top. I’ve included a picture of it below just because I know my explanation is kind of….well off. I think the packaging is very pretty. As for the amount, at the price of 8.99 it’s not bad. I know the HiP one by L’Oreal is about 2 dollars more expensive for less product. It’s a pretty good deal. It’s a cheaper liner for those that are on a budget. That’s what I love about this line. It has good products for a reasonable price. I’m a big fan of Sonia Kashuk, I think the line itself is pretty quality.

This liner on me at least will last probably about 5 hours…give or take a couple of hours. It may be my eyes, or perhaps because I don’t set it right. But after that time it begins to run down and I look like a crack addict. Or at least haven’t slept in the past day. It’s a little better when I put primer on before hand though. I think it’s just really prone to oil running. So, if you have oily skin, prime! Or at least take preventative action. I tried putting powder underneath my eyes to absorb some of the oil, it helped but not enough.

But true to its name, even if it doesn’t stay where I put it….it will definitely stay on my face. After putting it on, the eye liner usually won’t come off until I wipe it with some eye make up remover. I love using this eye liner just because the color is awesome and it does usually last. I just need to re-apply once during the day and for me I don’t find that too much of a problem. I’ve always had a problem with all my eyeliners smudging and not lasting. I’ve tried a vast range of eyeliners ranging from MAC to Covergirl to some random brand my mom gave me. So, when this one smudged I wasn’t that surprised. I was more surprised that it last as long as it did without smudging since I usually have to redo it every couple of hours. Even “Smudge-proof” eyeliners didn’t work for me, so the Sonia Kashuk one was pretty impressive to me.

The cocoa liner is a brown color. It’s pretty solid in its color I think. It’s not too dark, it also has hints of warmth to it being a brown of course. If you’re looking for a dark brown I probably wouldn’t go with Cocoa, just because this brown reminds of melted milk chocolate. I line my eyes in clean thin lines so I’m not sure how this would looked winged out. I think this color is best if you’re trying to line your eyes without wanting too much definition or attention on your eyes. It’s great for a natural look. With this liner I recommend a brown/black mascara just because a pure black mascara is slightly too dark for this liner.

The Cocoa eyeliner with the lid on

The Cocoa eyeliner without the lid on

The onyx color is a black color. It’s pretty basic and pretty awesome if I say so myself. It definitely brings out a lot of contrast to my eyes. My boyfriend says that it makes my eyes stand out more and he likes it. It’s perfect for winging out and used for more dramatic looks. It can also be used for an everyday look as well. It’s pretty versatile, but then again it is black. I think it’s a good black for everyday use or for going out. But like I said about, sometimes I feel the staying power of this liner isn’t as long as I want it to be. It might be because I take a mid-afternoon nap…or may be because the liner doesn’t stay. I will say even without my naps I find at the end of the day my liner isn’t as defined as it was in the morning when I put it on. It’s all that blinking…

The Onyx eyeliner with the lid on
The onyx eyeliner without the lid on

Overall, I think the Sonia Kashuk gel liner is a good liner. You just have to prep the eyes properly and take certain measures to make sure it sticks. Personally, I really like this gel liner. But it’s one of the few ones I have tried so I think it’s best if you try it yourself. Leave a comment on what you think!

I also apologize about the quality of the pictures…I’m not a photographer so I’m sorry they’re blurry. I’m trying to improve but it’s hard considering I’m really bad at taking pictures. lol

Until next time,
Binny

17 thoughts on “Beauty Review: Sonia Kashuk Gel Liner

  1. Ola i,m starter in this web site and i will to know the newinformations postated heare.I know your web frombing blog and i have tryed to register some minutes a go but this secret code was hard ro read but i manage it šŸ™‚ This was my introduction in this questbook
    Regards Me
    And this is my blog you can send to my e-mail

    http://www.liveinternet.ro/
    radio

  2. Heya iā€™m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and aid others like you helped me.

  3. I do consider all of the concepts you’ve offered on your
    post. They’re really convincing and will definitely work. Nonetheless, the posts are too quick for starters.
    May just you please prolong them a little from next time?
    Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

