What is it about studying?

Hello Internet,

I am sitting around trying to read a biology textbook…and hating it. This is strange because I totally adore biology and reading. But when I am forced to read it, I couldn’t be more uninterested if I tried. So, that made me wonder…what is it about studying that makes it so difficult?!

Is it doing something you don’t enjoy?

Is it being forced to take in something you don’t think you need?

Or is it just the word (and knowledge) that you are studying that makes it so unbearable?

I think that it’s a bit of all the above. Studying is probably one of the most tedious and tiresome things a student has to do. It makes going to work look amazing and a breeze. I mean at the end of the work day, you are DONE (unless you’re someone who brings work home with them…) With school, going to lecture is a struggle but the real problems begin outside of the classroom. As a student, I feel like I carry my school with me everywhere. If I’m not in class, I am studying. If I am not studying, I am thinking about studying. If I am not thinking about studying, I am stressing about something school related. I’m pretty sure I qualify as a nerd, but even nerds struggle with focusing sometimes…or maybe that’s just me.

Anyways, I am trying to figure out some tips for staying focused. So if you have any to offer please leave them in a comment.

Some small tricks I’ve picked up:

-study in incriments Study for 30-45 minutes and take a 10 minute break

-switch up the subjects

-reward yourself once you’re done

-study in groups

-study with quiet music

That’s all I really have….so lame…lol. but please leave your tips in a comment, I really need them!

Thank you for reading,
Binny

One thought on “What is it about studying?

Leave a Reply

