Beauty Thoughts: Make Up Forever HD foundation first thoughts

Hello my wonderful readers,

So, I wanted to get right into it. I finally jumped on the Make Up Forever HD bandwagon and bought it. I bought the color 127, which was a lucky guess and a perfect match for my skin tone. I ordered the foundation online from Sephora since I didn’t want to make the drive to the mall to look at it in person. I was pleasantly surprised that it was the right color. I usually guess either too light or too dark on concealers and foundations. I must be learning!!

I decided to try this particular foundation because it didn’t have any SPF in it. I went to a big family wedding in May where there will be a lot of pictures. So I didn’t want a white cast in those pictures. This pushed me to find a foundation that would give me good coverage without the light reflection. I wanted to try it early because I can always buy it in a darker color for summer; but I need time to try different application techniques to see which one gives me the best finish.

My initial thoughts when I applied it with a stippling brush was “amazing!!” I really liked the finish and the coverage it gave me. I felt it gave me medium coverage. The perfect amount for my skin. I applied it at 9 am and checked how it looked again at 6 PM and it looked almost the same. It faded a bit around my nose but all foundations do that to me. I set it with MAC mineralized skinfinish natural in medium dark. I really love the overall finish of these two products combined.

But the true test of how the foundation would hold up came when I had to wear it in NY. The difference is in CO, it is DRY. Here when we reach 20% humidity it’s humid to us. So when I went to NY, I wanted to see how it would hold up without touch ups, in humidity, with me walking my butt all over NYC. The end result was that-it held up pretty well. I put on a very light application of the foundation. Set it and literally just forgot about it until the end of the day. I didn’t take to many pictures around NY, but I will include the few I did.

Also for the wedding, there were 2 professional photographers that were snapping shots left and right. I included one of those pictures (that came back early) to show how well this foundation looked in pictures. I really liked it because it looked very natural on me. In the last picture, I am the one in the red dress. The beautiful lady in the gold dress is my cousin (who is lucky enough not to need to make up!)

With Lee on the Ferris Wheel in Toys ‘R Us in Times Square
Being Traumatized by Elmo! At least my make up is perfect.
At my Uncle’s Wedding with my cousin (in the gold), my other cousin (the best man), Me, and my brother

If you’ve had any experience with this foundation please let me know. Did you like it? Hate it? In between?

Until then, thank you for stopping by.
Binny

Leave a Reply

