Beauty Thoughts: The semi-success of my no buy

Hello my lovelies,

So for the months of November and December I decided that I would not buy any make up because I have so much (plus with the gift I got for Christmas I was pretty much set.) I have more eyeshadow than I know what to do with and I wouldn’t have it any other way. (I might do a collection post sometime soon…ish.)

Anyways, I call it a semi-success because I only broke my no buy 3 times (which for me is good because I usually break it the week of my no-buy.) But I broke it twice for Inglot and once to buy the revlon lip butters. Inglot was having a 20% off black friday sale and I decided it was time for me to try them out. I had heard so many good things about the Inglot eyeshadows that once this sale rolled around I jumped on the opportunity. I ended up ordering a 10 palette and 7 eyeshadows. I bought 3 matte ones and 4 shimmery/glittery ones. I must has my initial impressions of these shadows were fabulous! They literally blew away every other shadow I owned. They are pigmented, soft, easy to blend, long lasting…just everything I want in an eyeshadow. (I am planning on trying the blushes next…yup obsessed.)

The second order from Inglot consisted of purely matte shadows and a few rainbow ones to boot. I ended up buying 4 matte eyeshadows and 3 rainbow eyeshadows. (Did I mention I was obsessed?) I really like the idea the rainbow shadows because it is like getting three different eyeshadows in one. Plus of course they are pigmented and matte as well. I usually don’t like matte eyeshadows. But, these are absolutely fantastic. Fan freaking tastic.

I also stumbled across the Revlon lip butters in my local Target. It was the first time I had seen it in my area anywhere. They only had 7 of the colors available. But of those in the display, I picked up Creme brûlée and pink truffle. I wanted to play it safe initially just in case I was in the minority and dislike the lip butters. This wasn’t the case at all and I ended up getting three more after my no buy was up. I won’t write an in-depth review on these because there are so many out there already. But I did end up liking them and using them for my everyday lip.

overall, I can’t say that I am disappointed in myself. Other than the things mentioned above, I didn’t buy any other make up. I was very tempted to, but I didn’t. I am also surprised I didn’t end up buying any Tokidoki make up since Tokidoki is my favorite. So it wasn’t a complete success but it wasn’t a failure either.

I think I might try another no buy in February and March. It is a very nice challenge and I really don’t need anything else. I might get another moisturizer but I don’t count it as breaking a no buy since I have no back ups. (I am very random about the things I buy back ups of.)

My next post will hopefully be an update on a new obstacle I encountered, My “Christmas” haul, and products I used up over my no buy. Look forward to it!!

Much love,
Binny

2 thoughts on “Beauty Thoughts: The semi-success of my no buy

  1. Hello Binny! I just saw your blog today and I think it’s really nice. I had already 3 project pans in the past but none of them was successful. Whenever, I finish a certain product, I would stop. Hehehe. But I feel so proud of myself because I have not bought any makeup product for the months of August – December. Anyways, good luck with your project. 🙂

    Just a tip, maybe you can post pictures so people will be more encourage to read your blog. I admire your detailed posts and that they are informative. You will be a great blogger. 😉

    -Hena ❤

    1. Hello Hena,

      Thank you for your comment! It really made my day. I feel like going on a no buy is a lot easier than going on a project pan. But that may just be me. Thank also for the recommendations. Unfortunately my internet is off so I am posting from my phone. But when I do get my Internet back, I will definitely add more pictures (including pictures of products I used up during my no-buy!)

      Thank you for your kind words and encouragement!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

